Sew Fussy

Keeping up with the Fussy/s

A few of my favorite things

with 4 comments

If anybody has seen something similar to this amazing bug zapper anywhere, please let me know! I’m desperate for two more so I can stop carrying this one up and down three flights of stairs.

DSCF0707

The Zapper was a gift from some friends and when we received it a few Christmases ago we were scratching our heads a bit (seriously, doesn’t it seem like a strange gift?)… until summer arrived. I am a reluctant Houstonian – one of the big reasons I don’t want to be here anymore is the bug problem. I have a serious bug phobia, and this is not the right city for me in that respect.

Back to The Zapper – this thing is pretty freaking amazing. I would buy it all over again just for the sound effects, because it does an amazing job of convincing me that I’m getting rid of a ton of invisible bugs. I’ve even accidentally (wink) zapped my husband on a few occasions but he swears it doesn’t hurt. Hmm.

From bugs to food. Yum.
If you ever have the chance to buy this fat-laden Greek yogurt, you MUST try it.

Fage Total Yogurt

My husband introduced me to Total yogurt when I was living in Rotterdam with him the summer we got married. I have never been a fan of the runny, low-cal, low fat yogurts I’ve found in the US – what is so great about yogurt, anyway?

Total is super rich and very, very thick. It’s delicious in the morning with some honey or Bonne Maman strawberry preserves.

I went without my favorite dairy treat for a couple of years after we came back to the states, and I literally squealed at the stockist (so loudly that he started looking around for help) when I saw him shelving Total brand yogurt at the Houston Central Market.
Nowadays you can also find Total at Whole Foods Market and other specialty food stores. Go find some, ignore the nutritional info, and enjoy!

Written by sewfussy

July 8, 2007 at 2:22 pm

Posted in General Dorkiness

4 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. When I was living in Australia I loved the whole-fat yogurt they had there. So much tastier than the American version – as good as ice cream and a tad better for you. Plain Greek yogurt is great as a sour cream substitute, too.

    Laura

    July 9, 2007 at 12:34 am

  2. Oh I love yogurt, and also has this fascination with Greece and its food. I also tried once rice with yogurt and eggplant from a friend of mine (from India). It was delicious indeed!
    Sweet Christy I wanted to say thank you for your kind words, truly appreciated,I am feeling way better…I also hope you are doing great!
    many hugs*

    Marjorie

    Marjorie Ann

    July 9, 2007 at 12:51 pm

  3. Laura, we use the Total for sour cream as well! Too bad you can’t use (much less expensive) sour cream as Total, ha ha.

    Marjorie, I’m glad you’re feeling better. I’m doing well, despite some annoying dental problems. I wish I didn’t have teeth… if that were the case, I could always get by on an all-Total diet.
    By the way, did you see I added one of your images to my first post? 😀

    sewfussy

    July 10, 2007 at 2:04 pm

  4. interesting. i will have to check this out at wf. i generally buy whole milk yougurt, or make my own, so the nutritional info shouldnt freak me out too much.

    stephanie

    July 14, 2007 at 1:03 am


Leave a Reply

