Sew Fussy

Keeping up with the Fussy/s

Dress for Z

with 5 comments

Zella in Dress Muslin

I don’t know what got into me, but last night I decided to make a dress for Zella. I hardly ever make her anything, because I usually spend my sewing time making either for Anya or myself, as we don’t grow quite as quickly; or for other babies. I have been dying to make this one for a while now, though… I drafted it myself but the dress was inspired by one of my favorite Oilily dresses, which I could only find this photograph of (taken on Anya’s second birthday in 2004). It is my all-time favorite dress, and of course now I can’t find it…. It’s made from two layers of contrasting voile fabric, with a sweet little ruffle on the bottom. Simple, and perfect. Not MY dress – the lost Oilily!

Here are a few more pictures of my version (click on them if you want to see a better quality of picture, I downsized these and they’re a bit funky looking). I made sure to use the ugliest fabric I had because I knew I would mess it up; the first version was to be a muslin. Go figure, it actually turned out nicely and only needs minimal changes for the next version. The next time I will make the neck a little wider, and I’m definitely going to add the ruffle at the bottom. If I could find some cute voile I would use that, as the drape of the lighter weight fabric is very nice.The only other issue I have with this particular dress is that I didn’t have enough of the fabric to do a single piece front, so it has a seam down the center which I would not have put there if I had had a choice.

Zella in Dress Muslin 1

Zella in Dress Muslin

Zella in Dress Muslin

I am going to have to sew for Zella more often, because she actually likes the things I make for her and she’s happy to model them. Reminds me of Anya when she was younger, I could easily get her to model things I made her. Not so much anymore…

But since I can’t write a post about Zella without posting something about Anya, here is a picture I found of one of the earliest dresses I made (edited post in Feb of 2008 – I did NOT draft this dress pattern myself, it is Burda 9885!). Anya was 2 and we were visiting the Houston Aquarium. Wasn’t she cute? Okay, she still is, just a lot bigger and goofier now. She’s turning out to be a lot like me.
Too bad you can’t actually see the dress in the photograph – it has three little pleats down the front and slightly poofy sleeves, but other than that was fairly plain.

Anya Black Dress

I love sewing when things actually turn out well for me!

Written by sewfussy

July 10, 2007 at 3:43 pm

Posted in Family, Patterns, Sewing

5 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. These dresses are so absolutely adorable. Your young ladies make lovely models.

    I would wear Anya;s black pleated dress to church on any given Sunday!

    404momi

    July 10, 2007 at 7:02 pm

  2. adorable dress and charming little girls!

    teri

    mermaids

    July 10, 2007 at 11:03 pm

  3. Thank you both!!! 😀
    Teri, my oldest daughter is Hello Kitty-obsessed. She loves your little avatar.

    sewfussy

    July 11, 2007 at 2:11 pm

  4. love the black dress. anya looks just like you. and i mean that in a good way. hehe. and z is gettin huge!

    stephanie

    July 14, 2007 at 1:01 am

  5. […] recently got around to sewing another version of the Oilily-inspired dress that I made a few weeks ago for Zella. I don’t know why I hate this Alexander Henry Light […]


Leave a Reply

