Sew Fussy

Keeping up with the Fussy/s

More BBW Fun – Simplicity 3694

with 4 comments

Built By Wendy 3694

 

I don’t even know why I am bothering to post about this project… maybe because I haven’t seen any other reviews or examples of this on the web yet (does anybody else like the style?) or maybe it’s because I feel I should provide anyone who happens to read this blog with a good laugh.

Simplicity 3694 Built By Wendy

Just look at how crooked the pockets are! I’m positive that they were perfectly straight when I sewed them on at 3AM. And believe it or not, I IRONED this sucker before I put it on the dress form. This is as good as it gets, people. Go ahead and laugh. You have my permission.

I used $1 a yard cruddy gray sweatshirt fleece from a local Hancock’s during a “Store Closing” sale, and I probably shouldn’t have even spent that much on it. I originally started out trying to make the hooded jacket version, but a long version instead of cropped. That was nixed when I realized that the zipper needed to be a separating zipper (duh! why didn’t I figure that out before I started?) so I sewed the front up to make version A instead.

Look at my 4 year old wearing the work-in-progress before I sewed up the front. Doesn’t she totally look like Yoda?

anya-yoda (BBW Simplicity 3694)

Anyway, once I tried the hoody dress on I found that the hood was way too short for me, and when it was on my head it would pull the collar up to my ears. I was too lazy to take a picture before I ripped the stupid thing off, but just close your eyes and picture me wearing a hoody dress as earrings. Lovely.

At one point this stupid dress was hanging out in the trash but then I figured I might as well fold the collar over, sew it, take a few pictures, and then let Anya get to tearin’ it up.

My weird husband likes the simplicity of the… garment… and he likes the clean lines. *I* feel like I should only wear it with a stethoscope. But I think the pattern has potential with some tweaking.
A few more fabulous shots of my gorgeous dress (be sure to click on the images to see the perfection in detail).

Simplicity 3694 Built By Wendy

Simplicity 3694 Built By Wendy

 

Such a sad little droopy thing.

Written by sewfussy

July 13, 2007 at 10:14 pm

4 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Honey Chile! This pattern was a disaster for me. My version makes yours look like a diane von fertenberg (sp). I will have to post pics later. My front opening is so low I cant even wear it as a housedress.

    404momi

    July 13, 2007 at 11:42 pm

  2. it’s not you….it’s the pattern. i am convinced that BBW patterns should be banned from the universe. BBW patterns are eating away at the self confidence of too many people with superb sewing skills.

    throw away the dress. more importantly, throw away the pattern. life is too short for that kind of grief.

    here is my own BBW disaster… it’s ugly, so get the small children out of the room… http://mermaids.wordpress.com/2007/02/27/abandon-ship/

    despite those photos, i do know how to sew and my body is not deformed. it’s not me, it’s the pattern.

    mermaids

    July 14, 2007 at 11:12 am

  3. 404 – Mine is super low too… I thought it was something I did wrong because I altered the collar so much. Well, not that much I guess. Maybe that’s why my husband liked the dress so well!

    Mermaids – left you a comment on the blog re: those pants. I made the same ones and also the newer shorts, but I didn’t document either finished item because I was too grossed out by the way they made my backside look. LOL

    sewfussy

    July 14, 2007 at 2:54 pm

  4. ok ok I have a good laugh! hey! you gave permission!
    What an adorable Yoda! you are hilarious!, xoxox

    Marjorie Ann

    July 15, 2007 at 4:45 pm


Leave a Reply

