Sew Fussy

Keeping up with the Fussy/s

Betsy Ross Girlie Dress

with 7 comments

I made this Betsy Ross dress months ago (two of them, actually) and got stuck on the zipper of the second one, which I didn’t rush to get finished since it was a little too big for me anyway. I finally decided I should get it out of my house before little hands ruin it, seeing as how I spent hours and hours and *hours* making it as perfect as I could and I would have cried if something had happened to it. This dress required lots of patient seam ripping and re-stitching, especially on the zipper. I still need zipper help, btw – does anybody know of a great lapped zipper tutorial for dummies? I’ve had the hardest time finding any good resources.

Voila – the finished product, which I’m listing for sale tomorrow on my Hyena Cart. Selling clothing I have sewn (not just clothing I have embroidered) is a new thing for me, so I wonder how it will fare. I’m hoping it will find a home, but I have my doubts.

Betsy Ross Dress1

Betsy Ross Dress 2

Here is MY dress on me. I love wearing it, even though I’m not 100% sold on the straps for my body… I have sloping shoulders and it’s hard to keep them from falling off my shoulder. It’s also a small chore to keep my bra straps hidden, so I prefer to wear a cardigan.

Betsy Ross Dress 3

Betsy Ross Dress 4

I also have, or wish I had, a couple of the other Betsy Ross patterns – I own the Retro Coat pattern and I’m in LOVE with the Charmed Dress pattern, so I may have to swing for that one too. I need more time to do all of this sewing!

Written by sewfussy

July 16, 2007 at 8:00 pm

Posted in Crafty fun, Patterns, Sewing

7 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Lovely!! Nice work. You can always make little snaps with strings attached on the underside of the dress straps to keep your bra straps in place.

    aimee

    July 17, 2007 at 2:19 pm

  2. Thank you for being nice about the dress 😉
    I’m an idiot, I can’t grasp the concept of what you’re talking about with the strings! Explain?

    By the way, I had the hardest time with the lapped zipper so I just did a centered zipper. Why can’t I figure out the zipper?

    sewfussy

    July 17, 2007 at 4:10 pm

  3. Oh you look so pretty in that dress! I love it Christy, nicely done!
    xo.

    Marjorie Ann

    July 18, 2007 at 2:52 am

  4. Hi Christy! The dress is sweet! Maybe use those tiny safety pins to pin your bra straps to the dress straps solving both problems. I must admit I’ve never sewn a zipper (I have zipper phobia lol). But I bought a book for a friend off of eBay that he had a long time ago & he swears it has the *BEST* & easiest zipper directions in the world! It’s an ancient book (you now, 70’s ha ha), I’ll get the title & let you know. The Oilily fabric is the thinner soft tshirt-like cotton. I bought Logan the dress that was the cotton sheeting fabric & she tried it on, didn’t like it, & I turned around & resold it! But she’s picky, if it has one seam anywhere in the front it’s “itchy”. Please tell Stephanie that if she really decides to take on the table project, before she busts open the Mod Podge let me know & I’ll tell her what my husband used so hers will come out fantastic! I have some small projects to decoupage & I found a jar of that unopened I bought over 5 years ago lol! I hope it’s still good. Love the Yoda dress btw ^_~ Everything looks good at 3am, especially if you sew with a glass of wine lol!

  5. Darn it, I can’t find a picture of what I was referring to, but here’s some clever things:

    http://www.straptrap.co.uk/

    aimee

    July 24, 2007 at 8:36 pm

  6. […] other BR patterns I might sew in the future. I made the Girlie Dress last year, as I’m sure some of y’all remember. Ooh, her site says there is a Raglan Blouse pattern coming soon, I almost can’t […]

  7. […] other BR patterns I might sew in the future. I made the Girlie Dress last year, as I’m sure some of y’all remember. Ooh, her site says there is a Raglan Blouse pattern coming soon, I almost can’t […]


Leave a Reply

