Sew Fussy

Keeping up with the Fussy/s

Linen Dress from Japanese Pattern Book – Revisited

with 4 comments

DSC_0387

I finished the linen dress I posted about a week or so ago and have worn it out two times in the last week. I must really like it. In fact I quite love it despite the fact that it’s not completely perfect. It’s flattering, comfortable, and best of all, it’s casual yet so much cuter than my typical/tired ‘jeans and a tee’ couture. Excuse the wrinkles in the photos, the dress has been washed three times now without any ironing. I don’t do irons (unless I’m sewing, in which case I do reluctantly press almost every seam even though I don’t enjoy it).

I acquired a few more skills with this dress. First, I had to alter it around the chest because my big ol’ bosoms were causing a huge gape at the arm, so I successfully added a dart to each side. The only problem this caused for me is the arm opening became a little wonky where the dart was added, but since my arms cover the affected area I’m not worried about it. I think it would be easier to simply make a new dress than to remove the bias binding and fix it – I don’t even know how I would fix it. You can see that it’s kind of funky looking in the pic below, and one side is a little worse than the other. Disclaimer: I really don’t know anything about adding darts, other than that they should probably be symmetrical. I may have done mine completely wrong, but since the dress fits, I’m happy.

DSC_0383

Something else new – I finished the bottom with a blind hem on my sewing machine using my special blind hem foot. I did a pretty good job with it but again, the hem isn’t 100% perfect. For the most part, the stitches on the right side of the fabric are small enough that you can’t see them, the way they are supposed to be. There are a few stitches that are a tad too large, but it’s nothing that anybody else will be able to see.

DSC_0375

You will have to trust that the dress looks better on me than on the dress form, but I haven’t had time to get decent pictures of me modeling it. Hey, it’s on my list.

Written by sewfussy

July 29, 2007 at 3:35 pm

4 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Very cute!! I too just learned how to do a blind hem. It’s a wonderful thing lol

    adrienne

    July 29, 2007 at 5:58 pm

  2. Now get a pic with it on!
    Looks very comfy~I like where the darts are!

    Pam

    July 30, 2007 at 2:24 am

  3. I totally agree with Pam! Let’s see a pic of your hotness wearing that dress. Indeed it looks comfortable mama!! And yes, the darts look darn near perfect!

    leighanne

    July 30, 2007 at 4:27 am

  4. […] I am wearing my part machine-sewn, part sewn-by-hand linen dress in the photos, in case you didn’t […]

    Hair and Dress « Sew Fussy

    November 2, 2007 at 8:52 pm


Leave a Reply

