Sew Fussy

Keeping up with the Fussy/s

Another Dress for Z

with 6 comments

Dress for Zella Oilily Inspired

I recently got around to sewing another version of the Oilily-inspired dress that I made a few weeks ago for Zella. I don’t know why I hate this Alexander Henry Light Brights print fabric but I really do. I think it might the particular shade of pink that bugs me… it’s so pepto-bismol. I’ve had the fabric for years and have never been inspired to use it for any projects, but I decided the girls can make anything look cute. Plus, I really wanted it out of my fabric pile.

In the first version I tried adding a ruffle to the bottom of the dress (see pic below). A lightweight black cotton trim would have been perfect, but since I only had a stiff and crunchy black linen on-hand (and I’m super impatient) I opted for a rayon/linen blend fabric in a light aqua. The end result was nicht so nice – the ruffle weighed the whole dress down visually and didn’t look good, so I ended up cutting it off and doing a plain old narrow hem (see pic above). I probably should have hemmed with the aqua linen bias tape that I used to finish the arms and neck, but by the end of the project I was fed up with the stupid dress and was tempted to do a (serged) rolled hem so that I could be finished faster. The narrow hem was a good compromise, right?

Dress for Zella Oilily Inspired 2

Since I was left with some good sized scraps of the ugly AH Light Brights I made a little zippered pouch – my very first zippered pouch, actually! I followed this great tutorial here, except that I made a dorky little ruffled bottom on my pouch just to see how it would turn out. Fun, eh?
I had to lighten up my photo a bit to get the ruffled part to show up in the picture.

zippered pouch by chooch

Written by sewfussy

August 27, 2007 at 12:42 am

Posted in Fabric, Patterns, Sewing

6 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Oh My! That print makes me dizzy! It reminds me of a pachinko machine 🙂
    I dunno…I kinda like pepto-bismol pink! ha!
    I agree about the ruffle..the bias tape would have looked best, I think..but the simple hem is better than your serged idea~
    Cute pouch~I think I’m gonna try the tutorial..thanks for sharing!!

    Pam

    August 27, 2007 at 3:41 am

  2. Adorable! You are right, she could wear a lampshade and make it look cute! Thanks for sharing the clutch/purse link!

    leighanne

    August 27, 2007 at 5:43 am

  3. LeighAnne, I know you are sitting there laughing at my sorry-ass pouch. 😉

    Pam, I’m just sew lazy.

    sewfussy

    August 27, 2007 at 2:55 pm

  4. i kinda like the fabric. it is definitely a bold choice…but i like bold.

    teri

    mermaids

    August 27, 2007 at 11:53 pm

  5. I almost want to like that fabric but I just can’t… it’s close but not quite.

    I do like the clutch though, that’s cute.

    Amy

    August 30, 2007 at 9:54 pm

  6. how adorable!!

    thedomesticdiva

    September 3, 2007 at 12:21 am


Leave a Reply

