Sew Fussy

Keeping up with the Fussy/s

Burda 9885 Girl’s Dress

leave a comment »

Burda 9885 Girl’s Dress

This project is actually a few months old, but whatever. I don’t have any post-worthy pics of my current projects yet and I wanted to get a post in this morning.
This dress for my 5 year old is a combination of Burda 9885 and an old Laura Ashley dress I found at Costco a few years ago. She wore that dress so much it is now holey and can’t be passed down to Zella. Actually the only thing I carried over from the L.A. dress is the fullness of the skirt – you can kind of see from the first picture that the Burda dress isn’t supposed to be so full.

burda 9885 dress

The L.A. dress is pleated in a different (more subtle) way and I actually prefer it to the Burda pleats, but I didn’t want to get all crazy for this project because I always mess things up when I put forth too much effort. Here ya go, strange pleated front…

burda 9885 dress

Oh yeah, I have already posted a picture of Anya, then not-quite-3, in a dress I made from Burda 9885 (with no modifications – it was one of my earliest attempts at sewing a dress from a pattern) at the bottom of this post. I’m a sucker for cute black clothes.

Written by sewfussy

September 1, 2007 at 2:45 pm

Posted in General Dorkiness

Leave a Reply

