Sew Fussy

Keeping up with the Fussy/s

Simplicity 4116 w/Peter Pan Collar

with 10 comments

Man, I am so freaking sick. Anya is carrying home the germs of a thousand children and apparently I am very receptive to the buggers… She brought home some flu-like virus on her first week which I caught right away, and ever since then we’ve been passing it back and forth. My point, dear anonymous readers, is that I’m being lazy about posting because I haven’t done much of great interest in the last month.

One of my few sickie projects includes an attempt at Simplicity 4116.  Doesn’t it look cute in the line drawings? Nice and fitted at the waist?

simplicity 4116 back peter pan collar

I really thought this could be a cute girlie dress. I’ve never made anything in this style before, most of the things I wear are much simpler (much more simple?) and less frilly. I had ordered a bunch of linen – my favorite non-organic fabric – from fabric.com a little while ago during a sale and thought one of the colorways would look cute made into this pattern. Echhh… I was so wrong.
Since I didn’t actually finish this dress I almost didn’t post about it, but I decided to pin the skirt to the bodice and take some photos to show how it would have looked if I had finished. And it actually looks pretty cute on the dress form. Trust me when I say it looked a hundred times worse on my body. I put the bodice on for my husband and laughed at myself while he said “How could you even possibly think….???” Oh, it was bad.

simplicity 4116 full view

simplicity 4116 detail

simplicity 4116 close-up

Aside from this style being seriously unflattering on me in anybody’s lifetime, I think one of the problems is the fabric I used. It was a relatively stiff fabric, not quite light canvas-weight, but similar. The pattern called for fabrics such as lightweight linen and linen blends, crepe de chine, crinkled gauze, and silk linen (What? Such a thing exists? It’s my new mission to find and purchase some.) I think my linen was slightly too heavy, even though I would never call it a heavyweight fabric. My collar is funky, my sleeves are stiff and silly, and the whole dress makes me look like a clown.
Although the pattern information makes it look as if the dress is fitted, the waist is actually straight and roomy, not very fitted at all.  That was disappointing.
Finally, the size 12 I cut should have probably been a 10 or even an 8. Sucker was huge on me!

After hemming it, I plan to sew an elastic band into the skirt – I was hoping to find some white cotton/lycra knit that I could fashion into a stretchy waistband but all I have is black at the moment. It’s a shame to waste the bodice, but I’m not sure how to salvage it in a way that will look good on me so it will probably be trashed. Any ideas?

Written by sewfussy

September 20, 2007 at 2:45 pm

Posted in Fabric, Patterns, Sewing

10 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. On the form it doesn’t look so bad. Could you put some darts in the bodice to make it more fitted?

    michelle

    September 24, 2007 at 4:45 am

  2. The real problem is that on ME, it looks ridiculous. Totally stupid. *I* look totally stupid in the dress, the dress looks fine. It’s not at all my style but I had to try sewing it to make sure, I guess! LOL

    sewfussy

    September 26, 2007 at 2:34 pm

  3. Thanks for posting this. I was about to order the pattern from Simplicity Out of Print Patterns.

    Lynda

    March 7, 2008 at 8:06 pm

  4. There are darts in the bodice for the bosoms. I actually made this dress last week (only tweeked it a bit to not have the collar and made the V in the front a little wider at the neck). A great fabric to use for this is just a plain cotton fabric, which is what I used. It is still lightweight and flows nicely. If it is too big, I suggest just taking it in on the sides an inch or so. It really all depends on what body type a person has for this dress… I have sort of an hourglass shape and it looks great on me, but a pear-shape may have an issue with the bottom, as it is a lot of material and could make the bum look bigger than it is. Also, an upside-down pear shape could look really good, depending on the size of the V at the neck, and how well the bodice was tapered in after the darts. I tried the bodice on and was unsure as to the length of the bodice, thinking that it would accent the places I am embarrassed about (love handles-type area) but after I sewed the skirt onto the bodice, I was surprised at how well it suited me. hope this helps and that I’m not too late… but seeing as the last post was made in march, and it’s already august, I fear I may be too late.

    Lisa

    August 12, 2008 at 7:25 am

  5. I stumbled upon your website and I do have an idea. I have made many unwearable “Waders” in my lifetime, and I think since the fabric is so stiff, its more appropriate for a jacket. How about opening the front and sewing a facing on it and wearing it as a jacket? Possibly with a white shirt, long sleeved even and jeans? Hope this helps

    Mary

    Mary Lipscomb

    January 25, 2009 at 8:54 pm

  6. I stumbled upon this pattern in the “free” section online. I am going to use it for a Little Orphan Annie costume for the school play. I am planning on adding a white belt and change the sleeve to add a white band. I will also have the zipper go all the way up to the collar. Of course, the young lady playing Annie is only 14. I am nervous that the size 6 will be too large.

    Becky

    February 20, 2010 at 3:42 pm

  7. I made this same pattern and laughed out loud when I read your comments. HILARIOUS! Almost the same words I had for this pattern when I saw it on me. Good grief!

    Rachel

    March 12, 2010 at 7:40 pm

  8. You said you cut size 12 and it was big. I want to make this in a pattern crepe fabric but the waist in size 12 is not my size. I am 34B 32W 40hip. Are you these measurements? Then I will know the 12 will be big for me too. I am making the D pattern without the sleeves and collar. I like the color of your fabric but without the sleeves and collar I think it will be good. The arm hole looks big so please let me know. Thanks!

    Arlene

    April 8, 2012 at 10:26 am

  9. I need we copletion

    Jemba James

    July 13, 2015 at 1:20 pm

  10. […] neckline options including a Peter Pan collar.  Check Christie’s version of this dress in Sew Fussy.  This model also includes the pattern for a simple […]


Leave a Reply

