Sew Fussy

Keeping up with the Fussy/s

Christmas Crafting?

with 5 comments

This post is a supplement to my previous book report. I now have pictures and a plan, hooray!

I made a promise to stay off the computer all Thanksgiving day, which leaves me some time to try a bit o’ Christmas crafting. I think the book I’m most excited to experiment with is The Cute Book, because the projects are so tiny and… well, CUTE… and best of all, I have a huge stash of dyed organic velour and organic wool scraps in a rainbow of colors. I have easily found a use for scraps that are 3″ or larger in the past, but I never knew what to do with the smaller pieces that are abundant around here. This is the perfect project book for me! Just a little note, of course the animals can be made as large as you like, but actual size of the projects in the book is very mini.

the cute book 2

Isn’t the index (above) adorable? I mean it, I’m obsessed with the layout of this book. I think it’s wonderful and witty, and the text is cute as well. Each project covers two pages, and each project layout is a different color from the others.

 

the cute book 3

I’ve never made any sort of critter, whether hand-sewn or by machine, stuffed or flat, embellished or plain. I will be interested to see how this works out for me. Ha ha! I’m going to see if Anya can do some hand sewing as well. I think she can do it because she loves to”make” and she’s pretty meticulous for a 5 year old. Yeah, I’m bragging on her. Better than ragging on her. Pfft, hush Christy, you’re being weird.

From Last-Minute Patchwork + Quilting Gifts, I fell in love with this quilt but there’s no way I will even attempt to make it. Not that you shouldn’t, it’s just that I am not a quilter and I am far too scatterbrained and disorganized. I’d never get such a beautiful color wheel laid out, let alone sewn nicely. Isn’t it striking? I think so.

last minute patchwork + quilted gifts

I do plan to try making the bird ornaments (which can be seen on the cover of the book if you click on the title above), and this sweet stuffed elephant. “Peanut, the wee elephant” is what the project is called, and it was designed for the book by Hillary Lang of Wee Wonderfuls.

last minute patchwork + quilted gifts

The finished size is about 7″ by 9″ and I think Zella would love one of these for Christmas. I’m partial to this project because when I was a little girl I dreamed of being an elephant. You know, as a career. My mom tricked me into believing that if I pulled on my nose and ears every night before bed, it was possible. What a gullible little kid I was. Thanks for deceiving me, Mom!

Finally, two little projects from Aimee Ray’s Doodle Stitching. These ornaments are cute and simple, and will be a good introduction to hand embroidery (another first for me). If I mess up I’m not wasting much in the way of materials or energy.

aimee ray doodle stitching

Another little critter to try out…

aimee ray doodle stitching

In other Christmas-related news, we bought a live tree this evening! We went to Lowe’s and let Anya pick it out, I honestly think she picked the nicest one in the lot. It’s gorgeous. Even more exciting, it’s our first live Christmas tree! If I had known you could get such a lovely (and extremely aromatic) tree for under $30 I would have started this tradition a long time ago.

Encouraged by one of the photographs above, I tried to talk Bill into getting a pink tree but it was hopeless. I’m lucky he didn’t throw me out just for suggesting it, I could tell he was seriously considering it. I think pink would have gone well with our black, white, gray, and silver house though. Totally. I guess pink trees are trendy this season… check out the latest cover of Blueprint magazine for another example. Previously, I think it was upside down Christmas trees, which I don’t quite get. I mean, this one is $600 and sadly, all sold out already. Really?

My last little tidbit before I go to sleep. I coveted these Ahna Holder wool-felt stockings last year, and swore to make some cool felt sockings for my family before Christmas rolled around this year. It would probably make more sense to just *buy* some, huh? I would never go for such an easy solution.

ahna holder stockings

 

Written by sewfussy

November 21, 2007 at 9:10 pm

Posted in Books, Crafty fun, Sewing

5 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Wonderful! My problem is I never look for the craft in a day ideas and they would make so much more sense with my everyday time constraints. Wishing you and yours a peaceful, joyful Thanksgiving.

    TX Poppet

    November 22, 2007 at 2:08 pm

  2. my hubby and I saw a red christmas tree in the window of a Seasonal Concepts store and thought it would be really cool with all black ormnaments, but alas we have no money!
    last year my cat electrocuted herself on our tree, it’s an artificial tree w/the lights attatched, and she is compulsed to chew the branches and chewed through a wire! I’m not sure what we’ll do this year, because I don’t want to relive that incident.
    that cute book is so cool! maybe if I write about it in my daughter’s blog my MIL will buy it for me, it’s worked in the past (though not with the fairy diaper you have listed on Etsy, unfortunately!).

    amanda

    November 26, 2007 at 4:25 pm

  3. Did you ever make your Christmas stockings?

    ahna

    November 29, 2007 at 12:30 am

  4. Hi ahna! sigh… of course I didn’t make any stockings. They would probably end up being a disappointment even if I had the time, so I will most likely be buying some.
    I think the single colored stockings are my favorites. So gorgeous!

    sewfussy

    December 3, 2007 at 5:44 pm

  5. email me at my address so we can talk.

    ahna

    December 8, 2007 at 1:08 pm


Leave a Reply

