Sew Fussy

Keeping up with the Fussy/s

Archive for November 14th, 2007

Yoshiko Jinzenji, Quilter

with one comment

jinzenjiquilt.jpg

I have never been extremely interested in traditional quilts, but Yoshiko Jinzenji’s work is so different than what I envision when I hear the term “quilt,” and she’s definitely an artist worth checking out!

You can see some of Yoshiko Jinzenji’s beautiful quilts on her website, and there are also a couple of books of her work available. I have “Quilt Artistry” (text in English) and some of the projects inside are amazing… I wish I had some photographs of the inside pages, but I don’t. I’m a tease. Maybe I’ll take some later, though.
And even though it is not written in English I would also like to get the other book, “Simple Quilts.” There are a bunch of projects in there that I would like to make, and it should be similar to the other Japanese pattern books I have in that there is enough information to create the projects without text. I should be able to figure it out, right?

I am also really digging her fabric line (available here at ReproDepot) but my problem is, I can’t decide which of them I love the most. You should really check out the full-size files since you can’t see much in the thumbnails…

jinzenji3.jpg

jinzenji21.jpg

jinzenji4.jpg

jinzenji5.gif

For some reason, browsing through her collective fabric line makes me think of Alexander Calder’s work.

calder5.jpg

calder1.jpg

Isn’t this little elephant marvelous? I was not familiar with Calder’s non-mobile sculptures but I think I’m more intrigued by them than the types of work pictured above.

calderelephant.jpg

Written by sewfussy

November 14, 2007 at 1:11 am